Marinduque is a heart-shaped island which lies between the Bondoc Peninsula at the south- eastern part of Luzon and the island of Mindoro.  It is bounded by four bodies of water, on the north by Tayabas Bay, northeast by Mongpong Pass, South-east by Tayabas Strait, and Sibuyan at the south.

The first inhabitants of Marinduque were Malay natives. They established trade relation with the Chinese as early as the Sung Dynasty as evidenced by the artifacts and shards still found in caves that abound on the island.

Marinduque is thought to have been under the administrative influence – if not controlled-of the Bonbon (Batangas) settlement founded by Datus Dumangsil and Balkasusa, members of the ten- datu expedition from Borneo.

While the original name of the island was Malandik, the Spaniards called it Mare Unduque, findingit hard to pronounce the Malay word, meaning sea everywhere. While Malandik was thought to pertain to the sloping terrain and as reference to Mt. Malindig and Balagbag mountain range at the southern end and central part of the island respectively.

In 1571, the first Spanish Governor Miguel Lopez de Legaspi assigned the encomienda of Marinduque to a certain Fr. Pedro de Herrera, the first Agustinian father which introduced the Christianity to the native islanders.

On April 28, 1898, with the overthrow of the last Spanish casadores (Tagalog soldiers) after armed conflict and hostilities with the revolutionists during the Philippine-Spanish War, Marinduque declared its separation from Mindoro and from Spanish rule, a move that was ratified by the ruling class from the different towns of the island-province. The local struggle was led by Martin Lardizabal,  who was appointed  as military  governor of Marinduque during the first revolutionary provincial government.

During the American regime, the first major victory of the Filipino soldiers in the secondphase of the Philippine revolution occurred in Torrijos, Marinduque was written known as the Battle of Pulang Lupa on September 13, 1900 (during the Filipino – American War), when local forces led by Lt. Col. Maximo Abad defeated the American contingent under the command of Capt. Devereaux Shields. (The said battle was considered one of the most dramatic reversals the Americans suffered during the war with the Philippines). Later on May 1, 1901, the United States-Philippine Commission passed Act No. 125 which created the Province of Marinduque and established the provincial government at the municipality of Boac, its capital.

A year later by virtue of Act No. 423, dated June 23, 1902, the US-Philippine Commission annexed the island of Mindoro, including the island of Lubang (then separated from the Province of Cavite), to the Province of Marinduque, Boac remained as the capital of the consolidated provinces. Four months after, on November 10, by virtue of an Act No. 499 Marinduque was made a part of Tayabas (now Quezon). Later on May 17, 1907 under Act No. 1649, the Commission made Marinduque as sub-province of Tayabas. And finally, on February 21, 1920, Act No. 2880, sponsored by then representative Hon. Ricardo Paras, Jr. separated the sub- province of Marinduque from Tayabas and re-established the former province of Marinduque. That Law was signed by American Governor Francis Burton Harrison.


OFFICIALS                      TERM OF OFFICE                       MODE OF PLACEMENT
Martin Lardizabal1898-1901Appointed Military Civil Governor
Ricardo Paras1901-1907Appointed Civilian Governor
Juan Nieva1907-1916Appointed (Sub-Government)
Pedro Madrigal1916-1919Elected (Sub-Government)
Vicente Trivino1919-1922Elected (Sub-Government)
Miguel Villamayor1922-1925Elected
Damian Reyes1925-1929Elected
Leon Pelaez1929-1933Elected
Pedro Del Mundo1933-1936Elected
Leon Pelaez1936-1938Elected
Ramon Reynoso1938-1941Elected
Jose Lecaroz Lopez1941-1942Elected
Ricardo Nepomuceno1945-1946Elected
Cesar Nepomuceno1946-1951Elected
Felix Fidel Paz1951-1955Elected
Miguel M. Manguera1955-1963Elected
Celso Preclaro1963-1967Elected
Aristeo M. Lecaroz1967-1988Elected
Luisito M. Reyes1988-1995Elected
Jose Antonio Carrion1995-1998Elected
Carmencita O. Reyes1998-2007Elected
Jose Antonio Carrion2007-2010Elected
Carmencita O. Reyes2010-January 2019Elected
Dr. Romulo A. Bacorro, Jr.January-June 2019Succession
Presbitero J. Velasco, Jr.2019presentElected


OFFICIALS                                      TERM OF OFFICE            MODE OF PLACEMENT  
Casiano D. Aloyon1955-1963Elected
Aristeo M. Lecaroz1963-1967Elected
Celso S. Zoleta Jr.1967-1980Elected
Luisito M. Reyes1980-1986Elected
Salvador Jamilla1986-1988Appointed (OIC)
Maximo S. Lim1988-1992Elected
Rosario S. JugoMarch 1995-June 1995Appointed
Teodorito J. Rejano1998-2004Elected
Leandro Palma2004-2007Elected
Tomas N. Pizarro2007-2010Elected
Dr. Antonio L. Uy, Jr.2010-2013Elected
Dr. Romulo Bacorro, Jr.2013PresentElected


OFFICIALS                            TERM OF OFFICE               MODE OF PLACEMENT  
Emilliano Gala1907-1910Elected
Gregorio Nieva1910-1913Elected
Bernardo Del Mundo1913-1916Elected
Gregorio Nieva1916-1919Elected
Ricardo Paras, Sr.1919-1922Elected
Ricardo Nepomuceno, Sr.1922-1930Elected
Jose A. Uy1930-1938Elected
Cecilio Maneja1938-1946Elected
Temoteo Ricohermoso1946-1949Elected
Panfilo M. Manguera1949-1953Elected
Panfilo M. Manguera1953-1957Re-Elected
Francisco M.Lecaroz1957-1961Elected
Francisco M.Lecaroz1961-1965Re-Elected
Carmencita O.Reyes1972-1976Elected (Delegate Constitutional)
Ricardo Nepomuceno, Sr.1972-1976Elected
Carmencita O.Reyes1976-1998Elected
Edmund Reyes1998-2007Elected
Carmencita O.Reyes2007-2010Elected
Lord Allan Jay Q. Velasco2010-2013Elected
Regina O. Reyes-Mandanas2013-March 2016Elected
Lord Allan Jay Q. VelascoMarch 2016-presentElected